Colorado Motorcycle LawsRequest Free Consultation
Motorcycles are exhilarating vehicles, and they present the perfect way to enjoy the scenery of Colorado. However, all motorcyclists need to understand the laws that apply to them so that they can remain legal on the roadway and stay as safe as possible. Here, we want to review some of the most basic motorcycle laws that we need to be aware of.
Obtaining a Motorcycle License in Colorado
The Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) requires that every motorcycle operator have a Class M motorcycle license in order to be legal on the roadway. Colorado does not issue separate motorcycle licenses as other states do. This is an added endorsement to your existing Colorado driver’s license. There are various processes that individuals must go through in order to obtain this license.
If an applicant is over the age of 18, they must pass the motorcycle written test, the operations driving skills test, the vision test, a physical aptitude review, and undergo a review of their driving record. In lieu of taking the written and skills test, individuals can take a Motorcycle Operator Skills Training (MOST) course to get their endorsement.
If an individual is between the ages of 16 and 18 and applying for a motorcycle license, they have to follow all the requirements above, as well as provide an Affidavit of Liability and Guardianship, get an instruction permit, and pay a $14.00 fee. Individuals must have a motorcycle instruction permit for 12 months before obtaining a full motorcycle endorsement.
If an applicant is between the ages of 15 and 16, they must complete a Motorcycle Operator Skills Training (MOST) program before they can receive their instruction permit.
Motorcycle Helmet Laws in Colorado
In the state of Colorado, motorcyclists 18 years of age and older are not required to wear helmets. However, any motorcycle operator or passenger under the age of 18 is required to wear a US DOT-approved helmet when the motorcycle is in motion.
Colorado Motorcycle Insurance Requirements
All motorcyclists must carry insurance in order to remain legal on the roadway. The minimum coverages that motorcyclists in Colorado are required to have include:
- Bodily injury coverage of $25,000 per person or $50,000per incident
- Property damage coverage of $15,000 per incident
Colorado Motorcycle Passenger Laws
If a motorcyclist has a passenger, they are required to have a proper passenger seat behind the operator’s seat. The passenger must have footrests. There are no age restrictions for passengers riding on motorcycles in Colorado.
Additionally, passengers are allowed to ride in a sidecar or an enclosed cab attached to the motorcycle.
Riding Side By Side
Motorcyclists in Colorado are allowed to ride side by side in the same lane, commonly referred to as riding “two abreast.” However, motorcyclists are not allowed to ride down the centerline of traffic in the middle of two lanes on highways or any other roadway, a practice commonly referred to as lane splitting.
If you are a motorcyclist and have been injured due to the actions of other drivers on the roadway, we encourage you to reach out to an attorney as soon as possible. A skilled motorcycle accident lawyer in Denver can handle every aspect of your claim, work to prove liability, and help you recover compensation for your losses.